

Administration

Office of the Regional Clerk
1815 Sir Isaac Brock Way, PO Box 1042, Thorold, ON L2V 4T7
Telephone: 905-685-4225 Toll-free: 1-800-263-7215 Fax: 905-687-4977
www.niagararegion.ca

May 9, 2016

The Honourable Dr. Jane Philpotts Health Canada 70 Colombine Driveway Tunney's Pasture Ottawa, ON K1A 0K9

Sent via email: hon.jane.philpott@canada.ca

The Honourable Dr. Eric Hoskins
Ministry of Health and Long Term Care
10th Floor, Hepburn Block
80 Grosvenor Street
Toronto, ON M7A 2C4

Sent via email: ehoskins.mpp@liberal.ola.org

RE: Lyme Disease

Minute Item 9.3, CL 6-2016, April 28, 2016

Dear Ministers:

Regional Council at its meeting held on April 28, 2016, passed the following resolution:

Whereas the number of cases of ticks positive for Lyme disease is increasing throughout Ontario and specifically in Niagara Region:

Whereas the laboratory testing for and diagnosis of Lyme disease is sub-optimal; and

Whereas there are chronic sufferers of long term consequences of this disease.

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED:

- 1. That Niagara Region **REQUEST** the Province of Ontario to increase funding for research aimed to enhance the testing for Lyme disease;
- 2. That Niagara Region **REQUEST** the Government of Canada to increase funding for research aimed to enhance the testing for Lyme disease and determine better treatment for long term outcomes of Lyme disease;
- 3. That this resolution **BE FORWARDED** to all Municipalities in Ontario for their endorsement; and
- 4. That this resolution **BE FORWARDED** to the Premier of Ontario, the Minister of Health and local Members of Provincial Parliament.

The Hon. Dr. J. Philpotts and The Hon. Dr. E. Hoskins Lyme Disease May 9, 2016 Page 2

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you have any questions.

Yours truly,

Ralph Walton Regional Clerk

cc: The Honourable K. Wynne, Premier of Ontario Sent via email: kwynne.mpp@liberal.ola.org W. Gates, MPP (Niagara Falls) Sent via email: wgates-co@ndp.on.ca

The Honourable R. Nicholson, MP (Niagara Falls) Sent via email: rob.nicholson@parl.gc.ca

T. Hudak, MPP (Niagara West) Sent via email: tim.hudakco@pc.ola.org

D. Allison, MP (Niagara West) Sent via email: dean.allison@parl.gc.ca

The Honourable J. Bradley, MPP (St. Catharines) Sent via email: jbradley.mpp.co@liberal.ola.org

C. Bittle, MP (St. Catharines) Sent via email: chris.bittle@parl.gc.ca

C. Forster, MPP (Welland) Sent via email: cforster-op@ndp.on.ca

V. Badawey, MP (Niagara Centre) Sent via email: vance.badawey@parl.gc.ca

All Ontario Municipalities Sent via email