Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee December 12, 2024 7:00 pm via Zoom

Attendance: Mayor Dave Turton, Deputy Mayor Jean Anderson, Peggy Raftis, Mabel Amapali, Sarah Bowers-Peter, Caitlin Hall, Jokelee Vanderkop, Heather Gray, Jessica Rowden, Kerry Ammerman, Stefan Von Muhlenen, Brittany Reis and Alicia Becker

Staff Present: Belinda Wick-Graham, Director, Economic & Community Development and Gordon Duff, Treasurer

Regrets: Therese Boertien, Peyton McBeth and Ahmad Almohommad

Guests: Alyssandra Kent, Lindsay Cowan and Ali Kane-Decaire from the Community Resource Centre

- 1. Call to Order at 7:03 by Belinda Wick-Graham
- 2. Minutes of Previous Meeting
 - 2.1 Minutes of November 14, 2024, Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee

MOTION

Moved by: Heather Gray Seconded by: Deputy Mayor Jean Anderson THAT the Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) Committee approve the minutes of the November 14, 2024, meeting. CARRIED.

3. Roundtable Discussion

3.1 Guest Speakers:

Wick-Graham welcomed Alyssandra Kent, Lindsay Cowan and Ali Kane-Decaire from the Community Resource Centre (CRC) to provide more information on the resources provided by the Community Resource Centre. The CRC covers Centre and Northern Wellington communities. A copy of the presentation is attached as "Schedule A".

Kane-Decaire highlighted that new this year the CRC would be hosting the Coldest Night of the Year in Minto on February 22, 2025, at 4:00 pm starting and ending at the Harriston Arena. The event includes a 2km or 5 km walk and ends with a meal. The goal is to raise \$20,000 and have 20 teams participate. So far 9 teams have entered. Businesses can

sponsor the event, volunteers, team captains and walkers will also be needed to help raise funds.

Committee members expressed interest in entering a team. Wick-Graham will reach out to confirm team name and interested members. More information on Coldest Night of the Year is attached as Schedule "B"

3.2 DEI Committee Chair

Jokelee Vanderkop and Brittany Reis expressed interest in being Co-Chairs of the DEI Committee.

RECOMMENDATION

Moved by: Peggy Raftis Seconded by: Jessica Rowden THAT the Council of the Town of Minto appoints Jokelee Vanderkop and Brittany Reis as Co-Chairs of the Town of Minto Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee. CARRIED.

3.3 2025 Guest Speaker Ideas Last Call

Wick-Graham asked for any other guest speaker ideas. Mayor Turton suggested Upper Grand School Board Trustee Robin Ross and Reis suggested a speaker related to entrepreneurship programs for under-represented groups. Wick Graham will follow up.

Duff confirmed that Rachel Marks was interested in speaking to our group virtually about accessibility and that Tiffany Fagan from the Grove was also willing to come and speak with our group about challenges youth are facing and what is being done locally to support them. Ammerman confirmed that Cory Bilyea was also interested in speaking with us about indigenous issues. Wick-Graham is following up with the speakers identified at the last meeting on settling newcomers in Minto.

3.4 2025 Action Plan Review and Budget Allocation

Because the meeting was moved online due to the weather the Committee agreed to save this activity for the next meeting in January. Wick-Graham confirmed that \$4,000 is currently in the 2025 budget for the DEI Committee.

3.5 2025 Meeting Dates

The Committee set the 2025 meeting dates at 7:00 pm with all meetings to be held at Launchit Minto as follows:

January 16th – (1 Elora St. Unit 4) February 20th (39 Elora St) March 20th April 17th May 15th June 19th September 18th October 16th November 20th

4. Adjournment at 8:01 pm