

TOWN OF MINTOMEETING DATE:April 22, 2025REPORT TO:Mayor and CouncilSERVICE AREA:AdministrationSUBJECT:Report # CAO 2025-002 Committees of Council Review

## **RECOMMENDATIONS:**

THAT the Council of the Town of Minto hereby receives Report # CAO 2025-002 Committees of Council Review, prepared by the Chief Administrative Officer, for information purposes;

AND FURTHER THAT the Council of the Town of Minto approves and adopts the proposed changes to the Committees of Council as outlined in this report;

AND FURTHER THAT the Council of the Town of Minto directs staff to prepare a new Bylaw to be brought to Council at a subsequent Council meeting, that reflects the adopted changes and repeals Bylaw 2024-071.

### **BACKGROUND:**

As per the Town of Minto 2024 – 2028 Strategic Plan Goal # 5.3 (iv), staff are charged with the following:

"Review Council Committee and sub-committee structure and numbers of committees to ensure effective mandates."

Current Council Committees and subcommittees are broken out into Committees of Council and "Other Appointments" under Bylaw No. 2024-071- Schedule A. There are currently twenty-six (26) Committees, Subcommittees, and Other Appointments that the Town of Minto currently has representation on. This includes Members of Council, Staff, and Town Of Minto volunteers. The following tables outline the "current" composition.

#### Committees of Council - Bylaw 2024-071 - Schedule A

Community Services Advisory Committee (CSAC)	Councillor Elliott Councillor Zimmerman
Subcommittee – Norgan Theatre	Councillor Elliott
Cultural Roundtable Committee	Deputy Mayor Anderson
	Councillor Podniewicz

Subcommittee – Minto Farmer's Market	Deputy Mayor Anderson
Subcommittee – Palmerston Railway	Councillor Zimmerman
DEI Committee	Deputy Mayor Anderson
Palmerston Railway Museum Committee	Paul Zimmerman
Economic Development & Planning	Councillor Dirksen
	Councillor Gunson
Subcommittee – Clifford Connects	Councillor Zimmerman
Subcommittee – Harriston Rising	Councillor Podniewicz
Subcommittee – All Aboard Palmerston	Councillor Elliott
Subcommittee - LaunchIT	Mayor Turton
Minto Trails Committee	Councillor Dirksen
	Councillor Gunson

# Other Appointments = Bylaw 2024-071 - Schedule A

Accessibility Committee	Staff
Clifford Jamesway Manor Rep	Deputy Mayor Anderson
Health Professional Recruitment Committee	Councillor Gunson
Livestock Valuers and Fence Viewers	Staff and Public Members only
Maitland Valley Conservation Authority	Councillor Podniewicz
Municipal Rep to ABMV Source Protection	North Perth Councillor Rothwell
North Wellington Health Care Board	Councillor Dirksen
Pound Keeper	Staff
Property Standards Committee	Councillor Podniewicz + Public Members
Saugeen Valley Conservation Authority	Wellington North Councillor McCabe

Wellington Farm and Home Safety Assoc.	Councillor Judy Dirksen
Westario Power	Mr. George Bridge
Joint Fire Services Advisory Committee	Deputy Mayor Anderson

# COMMENTS:

Staff are proposing the following changes be made to the Committees of Council and subcommittee structure:

1.) That sub-committees be turned into "Working Groups".

There would be no official representation from Members of Council on the "Working Groups" however the working groups would continue to work closely with Town of Minto Staff and be associated with a Committee of Council. Working Groups will continue to operate as usual, under updated Terms of Reference (TOR), but they would not be required to prepare agendas or take formal minutes. If the working groups wished to come to Minto Council to update them on their activities or to ask for resources, they would be required to do so like any other delegation.

Sub-committees that would turn into working groups would include the Norgan Theatre Group, Minto Farmer's Market, Clifford Connects, Harriston Rising, All Aboard Palmerston, Palmerston Railway Museum Committee, and Launchlt.

The Terms of Reference (TOR) for each subcommittee that turns into a "Working Group" would be updated to clarify that the working group is supported by Council and the Town of Minto so that the volunteer members would be covered by the Town of Minto's insurance policy. Town staff have confirmed this with its Insurance Company.

Each Committee of Council would be accountable for approving and tracking any funds to and from their associated Working Groups.

2.) Eliminate the Community Services Advisory Committee and the Minto Trails Committee.

These two (2) Committees of Council have been inactive for more than a year. Members of Council and the public will continue to have access to staff and would help to advise on associated annual work plans. The following table outlines the *proposed* Committees of Council Structure:

Cultural Roundtable Committee	Councillor Podniewicz
	Councillor Zimmerman
Working Groups: Minto Farmer's Market,	
Palmerston Railway Museum Committee;	
Norgan Theatre	
DEI Committee	Deputy Mayor Anderson
	Councillor Elliott
Working Group: Minto Pride	
Economic Development and Planning	Councillor Dirksen
	Councillor Gunson
Working Groups: Clifford Connects,	
Harriston Rising, All Aboard Palmerston,	
LaunchIT	

The Mayor would continue to be on all Committees. There would be no change to the "Other Appointments" as outlined in Bylaw 2024-071. Members of Council will still be welcome to attend and participate in the various "Working Groups".

# **FINANCIAL CONSIDERATION:**

There will be no impact on the current 2025 Operating Budget.

## STRATEGIC PLAN:

- Goal #5: Responsible Government
- 5.3: Ensuring organizational capacity to support our growing community
- Iv: Review Council Committee and sub-committee structure and numbers of committees to ensure effective mandates.

**PREPARED BY:** Gregg Furtney, Chief Administrative Officer (CAO)