

TOWN OF MINTO DATE: REPORT TO: FROM: SUBJECT:

March 14, 2018 Mayor and Council Annilene McRobb, Deputy Clerk Appointment By-law update

STRATEGIC PLAN:

Demonstrate Council and Staff leadership by taking primary responsibility for implementing and following the Strategic Plan, while recognizing the roles of community leaders in achieving Plan success.

12.1 Implement the strategic plan in consultation with the community at all times, and draw on the volunteers, private business, non-profit groups and key individuals to assist and promote strategic goals.

BACKGROUND

The Procedural By-law provides for Council appointments to ad hoc, advisory and special purpose committees annually. The Appointment By-law establishes representation on these committees as well as bodies such as Committee of Adjustment, Property Standards Committee, Conservation Authorities, and Jamesway Manor Non-Profit Housing Corporation. The By-law includes volunteers appointed to Town standing Committees. The last Appointment By-law 2017-12 was passed February 6, 2017. The two new appointees to the Municipal Service Corporation (Harriston Lion's Medical Clinic) approved in September 2017 are also formally appointed in this bylaw.

COMMENTS:

The proposed by-law addresses changes to various committee memberships, the addition of the Minto Trails Committee, removal of the Harriston Farmers Market and the appointment of a staff member as the Pound Keeper. Below are the committees that each member of Council belongs to:

Councillor Jean Anderson

Clifford Jamesway Manor Representative Clifford Revitalization Committee Cultural Roundtable Economic Development and Planning Committee

Mayor George Bridge

Ex-Officio member on all Committees Committee of Adjustment (Chair) Westario Power representative for the Town of Minto

Councillor Mary-Lou Colwell

Cultural Roundtable Economic Development and Planning Committee Finance and Personnel Committee (Chair)

Councillor Judy Dirksen

Minto Farmers' Market-Palmerston Location North Wellington Health Care Board Representative Trees for Minto Agricultural Incubator Palmerston Railway Heritage Museum Committee

Councillor Ron Elliott

Palmerston Revitalization Committee Economic Development and Planning Committee Norgan Theatre Board Parks and Recreation Advisory Committee (PRAC)

Deputy Mayor Ron Faulkner

Fire and Emergency Measures Committee (Chair) Health Professional Recruitment Committee Property Standards Committee Minto Trails Committee Trees for Minto Minto Municipal Service Corporation

Councillor Dave Turton

Harriston Revitalization Committee Drinking Water Quality Management Standards (DWQMS) Team Maitland Valley Conservation Authority Public Works Committee (Chair) Parks and Recreation Advisory Committee (PRAC):

FINANCIAL CONSIDERATION:

There are no unbudgeted costs to this appointment by-law.

RECOMMENDATIONS:

THAT Council receives the March 14, 2018 report from the Deputy Clerk regarding updating the Appointment By-law, and considers the By-law in regular session.

Annilene McRobb, CMO Deputy Clerk